Communication Matters

Leaders understand the importance and value of communication. Thus, leaders strive to communicate in an effective and efficient manner. This is not an easy thing to do. Communication is a challenge; communication is complex.

Communication experts claim there are nine different individuals involved in an exchange between two people: (1) who I think I am, (2) who I think the other person is, (3) who I think the other person thinks I am, (4) who the other person thinks he or she is, (5) who the other person thinks I am, (6) who the other person thinks I think I am, (7) who the other person thinks I think he or she is, (8) who I think I want to be, and (9) who the other person thinks he or she wants to be. No wonder communication is so challenging.

Communication is important because it involves an exchange of persons. When I am involved in communication, I am not only expressing my ideas, I am also defining who I am and who I will be. Likewise, the person I am communicating with is also expressing his ideas, defining who he is and who he will be. Consequently, it behooves a person to choose his friends wisely. Those with whom he is communicating with the most will have the greatest impact on his future.

In what ways do you think communication with others has helped to shape you or is helping to shape you?

Leave a Reply

